[News] Australian Experimental Rock project SEIMS shares new video “The Mountain’s Scream” from upcoming album

Australian Experimental Rock project Seims revealed the second single “The Mountain’s Scream” from forthcoming album “Four,” DUE out October 22, 2021 VIA Bird’s Robe Records.

The brainchild of multi-instrumentalist Simeon Bartholomew, SEIMS has evolved into an explorational and formidable band over the course of several records. The new record showcases the band’s delicately crafted arrangements on tracks including the beguiling 65daysofstatic Wild Light era tinged Post-Math Rock of first single “Elegance Over Confidence” an now with the soaring modern Post-Rock of second single “The Mountain’s Scream.”

SEIMS mastermind Simeon Bartholomew comments: “The Mountain’s Scream: “Crying out of the void she can’t see, frightened not knowing where she will be. This was the last song I’d written 3 weeks out before recording the album – driven by pure emotion and elation. My wife and I were expecting our daughter within a fortnight of recording this album, and of course, I seemed to have had that curveball wave of inspiration moments before we were about to step into the studio. Can we squeeze an extra song in? Maybe. Will it fit on the vinyl? I’ll make room. Do we know what this song exactly is supposed to be? Kind of. I don’t even think Chris had time to arrange the drums properly. I forgot to write my own parts because I was so focused on nailing this grandiose string arrangement. The lyrics were a further last minute addition – written the night before, and inspired by the imminence of her birth. Even though this tune felt “rushed”; I think it came out beautifully strong because it was powered by something new to me. (I’m sorry that’s so clichéd.)

Watch the official music video for the new single “The Mountain’s Scream” through the YouTube player below:

New album “Four” was written & produced by Simeon Bartholomew himself, engineered by Tim Carr (We Lost The Sea), mixed by Alex Wilson (sleepmakeswaves) & mastered by Jeff Lipton and Maria Rice. As well as Simeon performing bass, guitars, synths, piano & vocals himself, it also features blistering performances from Plini drummer Chris Allison, Kat Hunter & Susie Bishop on violins & Tangents/ FourPlay member Peter Hollo on cellos.

For the release of “FourSEIMS have partnered with Australian labels Art As Catharsis and Bird’s Robe Records once again, as well as European vinyl label Dunk Records for the first time.

Simeon says: “I’ve always loved writing concept albums and after exploring the colour spectrum and its contributions and interactions with itself, it made me think about a similar idea in the verbal medium. Four was initially inspired by the Myer Briggs indicator of personalities. I always found it fascinating how words on paper can change inference, intent, or perspective purely by someone’s speaking tone and demeanour, and also how it can be received or perceived based on your personality, context, and cognisance. This album is all about unintentionally misconstrued conversations – multiple voices / themes saying one thing, and being received or misinterpreted a very different way, for better or worse.

Initially conceived as a one-man studio project in 2012, the band has expanded into a ferocious live act with some of Sydney’s most talented musicians. SEIMS has shared stages with a diverse array of acts including Tortoise, Regurgitator, We Lost The Sea & Jean Jean. They performed at back to back Progfest events in 2018 & 2019 and have toured Japan twice, featuring at Tokyo’s iconic Math-Rock festival Bahamasfest.

Director of Bird’s Robe Records Mike Solo says: “Love Sim, love SEIMS and love being able to share this awesome record with people. This is my absolute favourite SEIMS album to date, it’s got everything you know and love about the band with plenty more innovation and craftsmanship on top. There’s such a good vibe on this record from start to finish and if you like any of the experimental math-rock, post-rock influences they’ve showcases in the past, you will love this. Check it out.

In 2020 they were due to play the main stage at UK festival ArcTanGent, alongside Opeth, This Will Destroy You and Swans, when the pandemic forced the postponement of the event. They are now due for their maiden UK/EU tour in 2022, again featuring a performance at ArcTanGent.

Pre-order the new album here: https://store.seims.net/track/elegance-over-confidence


  1. The Mountain’s Lullaby
  2. The Pursuit Of Intermediate Happiness
  3. Showdown Without A Victim
  4. Shout At A Brick Wall
  5. Stranded. Isolated.
  6. Elegance Over Confidence
  7. Biting Tongues
  8. Nuance Lost In Translation
  9. Understatement
  10. The Mountain’s Scream

SEIMS |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Spotify|

Bird’s Robe Records |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply