[News] Bebawinigi announces the release of her first LP in six years “Stupor”

Stupor” is the second chapter of the ambitious Experimental project by singer, multi-instrumentalist, composer and actress, Bebawinigi. A juicy, dangerous and unexpected double LP resulting from years of live experience across the most Svant-Garde venues in Europe.

It became the crucial factor shaping the sound of the newest album of Bebawinigi. While avid usage of loops and dissonance sounds on her shows, lead to creating what singer herself describes as “obsessive songs” comparing them to magic formulas and Medieval rituals. Virginia explains: “Most of ‘Stupor’ was born from this! The idea of creating something new, fresh, something that takes the music forward and does not stagnate in a defined and crystallized genre.”

Bebawinigi (born Virginia Quaranta) is a multi-instrumentalist, singer, actress, composer often described as “Italian Diamanda Galas.” The name Bebawinigi, according to the artist, represents the graceless, grotesque, disturbing and inherently flawed creature that lies in each one of us, which we try to get rid of when we become adults, but it will always be part of us.

Bebawinigi isn’t a different person outside of her music activities. Virginia Quaranta isn’t always calm and focused. But just like her alter-ego reminds a constantly morphing symbiosis of angel and devil. “Since childhood I have been used to singing in choirs this has greatly influenced my way of composing” – following the words of the woman behind Bebawinigi, that was the start of her path of exploring registers, timbres and colors “As if there were so many different creatures in me in one body. It’s a long, lifelong process that comes naturally to me.”

It means wonder, surprise, astonishment and at the same time means the state in which you are unable to think and act normally because you are too drunk or high or sick” – explains Virginia, referring to the linguistic ambivalence between Latin and English. A long gestation of an instinct, immediacy, study and research alongside with the mental journey lead Bebawinigi all through the process of creation of her new album. A journey through many different places linked by a single enchanted thread that is “Stupor.”

Stupor” is coming out on October, the 7th via Subsound Records.
Pre-order the record here: https://bebawinigiproject.bandcamp.com/album/stupor


01. Ayahoo! 03:30
02. Mr. Fat 03:59
03. Go Back 04:16
04. Krisis 05:37
05. Yeah! 06:44
06. Space 05:35
07. Giù dal Cielo 04:54
08. Guarda in Alto 03:02
09. The Call of the Deep 07:29
10. Camomilla 06:39
11. Zichi 05:06
12. Let the Game 07:25
13. In the Hall of the Mountain King 04:53

Bebawinigi |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Subsound Records |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply