[News] Billy Yfantis releases “The Nebula Voyager” album exploring sounds from the outer space

Experimental musician and author Billy Yfantis releases his 5th album entitled “The Nebula Voyager.” A nebula is a gathering of interstellar clouds that forms a unique body (which can consist of cosmic dust, hydrogen, helium, molecular clouds; possibly as ionized gases). The great majority of Nebulas are hundreds of light-years in diameter. Billy Yfantis explores musically the “Nebula” concept by composing music inspired from the formation of existing nebulas as they are described in official astronomical catalogues.

The new album features 19 instrumental tracks including “City Lights” which was performed at the online edition of the Mrož festival 2020 and a 2021 remix of the previously released track “The Mysterious Trip.” The dreamy atmosphere of the album was created by using the Sound Design recording technique through the use of both hardware and software synthesizers. If you are familiar with cinematic soundtracks and music styles such as Avant-Garde, Krautrock, Experimental and Ambient, then you are definitely in the spirit of this release!

Billy Yfantis commented on the release: “The main scope of the album was to explore Astronomy beyond the popular science fiction concept. The 16 tracks of the album (except remixes and the festival performance) refer to real Nebulas that have been recorded in official astronomical catalogues by famous scientists. If you look for information about these Nebulas while listening to the album, then your listening experience will be an augmented one.Billy Yfantis plans to experiment with new instruments and technologies for the recording of his 6th full album, with a release schedule in late 2022. Stay tuned for more information!

Watch the promotional video for “Cat’s Eye Nebula“: https://youtu.be/xOC-jIWg0sE
Watch the promotional video for “Pelican Nebula“: https://youtu.be/CKy5s7t9SjQ

Purchase the album on Bandcamp: https://billyyfantis.bandcamp.com/album/the-nebula-voyager

The Nebula Voyager Tracklist:

  1. Crab Nebula
  2. Cat’s Eye Nebula
  3. Orion Nebula
  4. Lagoon Nebula
  5. Pelican Nebula
  6. Red Square Nebula
  7. Boomerang Nebula
  8. Rosette Nebula
  9. Ring Nebula
  10. Tarantula Nebula
  11. Eagle Nebula
  12. Eskimo Nebula
  13. Horsehead Nebula
  14. Ant Nebula
  15. Carina Nebula
  16. Helix Nebula
  17. Into the unknown (Cinematic Remix)
  18. City Lights (Live at Mrož festival 2020)
  19. The Mysterious Trip (2021 Remix)

Billy Yfantis |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *