[News] Hifiklub announces audio-visual collab Scorpion Dagger, Iggor Cavalera & Alain Johannes

French Experimental trio Hifiklub’s collab audio-visual oeuvre with the Montreal animator James Kerr (Scorpion Dagger) titled “ScorpKlub I & II Original Soundtracks” is slated for vinyl and digital release on May 27, 2022 via Electric Valley Records. The double-sided record features Iggor Cavalera (MixHell, Cavalera Conspiracy, Pet Brick, co-founder of Sepultura) and Alain Johannes (Queens of the Stone Age, Them Crooked Vultures, Eleven).

The track “Make Up,” which features Alain Johannes, is now available for streaming on YouTube. This first preview number will be available on all digital/streaming platforms this Friday (08 April 2022).  

Pre-save “Make Up here: https://bfan.link/make-up-1

Speaking of the track, Hifiklub bassist Régis Laugier offers: “I know Charles Ginoux’s ‘Tobie rendant la vue à son père’ since i’m a child. An amazing painting from Toulon museum’s remarkable collection. Scorpion Dagger’s style is so unique that he even managed to include some kind of homage to Kiss in this painting from 1846. Had they already released ‘Kiss Alive’ at the time? I don’t remember. Most important is to know who is the bearded person in the video? Tell us!”

Stream the track through the YouTube player below:

The inspiration for the ScorpKlub project was to create unique works using the remarkable collection of Toulon Art Museum as a palette through a multidisciplinary exchange of sound and moving images. Hifiklub responded in music to the digital collages created by Kerr, who mischievously altered twenty artworks ranging from the 15th to the beginning of the 20th century, from the museum’s permanent collection.

The work of assembling the visuals took place in James Kerr’s studio in Montreal, whereas the musical components of the project were created in two stages:

— The first recording session took place at the end of January 2021 at Coxinhell Studio in Saint Aygulf, with Iggor Cavalera recording remotely. This session resulted in ten original compositions, to which Kerr animated his videos.

— The second stage of Hifiklub took place in Toulon between 02 to 03 July 2021 during the Murex Festival, with the remote participation of Alain Johannes. This session of sound research and recording was done in front of a live audience, to which the music was created in response to ten premade animations created by Kerr.

ScorpKlub I & II” will be broadcast in 2022 on the internet in the form of two seasons: one with Iggor Cavalera (May) + one with Alain Johannes (June).


Side A: ScorpKlub I Original Soundtrack

  1. Hates Music
  2. Camel
  3. Bed Dance
  4. Glass Drop
  5. Goats
  6. Weird Five
  7. Abduction Square
  8. Navy
  9. Cliff Diving
  10. Walk on Water

Side B: ScorpKlub II Original Soundtrack

  1. Stairs
  2. Cello
  3. Make Up
  4. Creeps
  5. Shitty Drawing
  6. Head Poke
  7. Exposing Baldness
  8. Bus Stop
  9. Look Jesus
  10. Purse


Album cover by James Kerr/Scorpion Dagger.

Paintings by Charles Ginoux (Tobie rendant la vue à son père, 1846 – front), Charles-Adolphe Bonnegrâce (Portrait de femme, 1847 – back), d’après Moïse Valentin (Judith et Holopherne – side A), Simon Julien (Portrait de Laurent Julien et de Geneviève Declar, père et mère de Simon – side B).

Supported by Région Sud Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, Conseil départemental du Var, Ville de Toulon.

Side A: ScorpKlub I Original Soundtrack

All songs performed by Hifiklub & Iggor Cavalera.
Pascal Abbatucci Julien – drums, percussion
Jean-Loup Faurat – guitar
Régis Laugier – bass
Iggor Cavalera – drums, percussion, programming, synthesizers

Music composed by Pascal Abbatucci Julien, Iggor Cavalera, Jean-Loup Faurat and Régis Laugier.
Produced by Hifiklub and Anthony Belguise.
Recorded by Anthony Belguise at Coxinhell Studio (Saint-Aygulf, FR) and Laima Leyton (London,

Mixed by Anthony Belguise at Daffodil Studio (Toulon, FR).

Mastered by François Fanelli at Sonics Mastering (Marseille, FR).

Side B: ScorpKlub II Original Soundtrack

All songs performed by Hifiklub & Alain Johannes.

Pascal Abbatucci Julien – drums, percussion
Anthony Belguise – guitar, synthesizers
Jean-Loup Faurat – guitar
Régis Laugier – bass
Alain Johannes – guitar

Music composed by Pascal Abbatucci Julien, Anthony Belguise, Jean-Loup Faurat, Alain Johannes
and Régis Laugier.

Produced by Hifiklub and Olivier Cancellieri.

Recorded live by Olivier Cancellieri during Murex Festival (Toulon, FR) and Alain Johannes at
11AD2 (Los Angeles, US).

Mixed by Olivier Cancellieri (Toulon, FR).

Mastered by François Fanelli at Sonics Mastering (Marseille, FR).

— Test Press Vinyl (4x)
— LTD Solid Pink Vinyl (250x)
— LTD DD Galaxy Green/Blue Vinyl (200X)
— Digital

PRE-ORDER (starts 06 April):
https://www.electricvalleyrecords.com/products (Vinyl + Merch)
https://evrecords.bandcamp.com (Vinyl + Merch + Digital)

Hifiklub |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Electric Valley Records |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *