[News] Bolts of Melody released the first single “555” taken from upcoming new album

Embarking on a veritable journey both backwards and forwards in time, Outer Battery Records and Adam Franklin, renowned artist and founding member of Swervedriver, is thrilled to announce the reissue of the legendary Oxford Rockers 1998 LP, “99th Dream,” alongside “Film Noir,” the brand-new album from his rolling sideshow, Bolts of Melody.

On paper, “Film Noir” is a debut album of sorts with the name “Bolts of Melody” originally stemming from one of Franklin‘s solo tracks. Over several incarnations the name has since taken on a life of its own, coining the collective group of music-makers responsible for touring and recording the project. Teaming up once again with long-time musical companions, Locksley Taylor (SIANspheric), Josh Stoddard and Mikey Jones, the album features notable collaborations and guest appearances from The Besnard Lakes and Dinosaur Jr.’s J Mascis.
This new record was loosely conceived by Taylor as an instrumental album,” explains Franklin. “Like a soundtrack hence the ‘film’ part of the title. Each song was given license to roam. Some were quite literally composed as library music before being rescued from life in an elevator when it was realised that they contained some semblance of heart and soul.”
Within the music voices appear. A football crowd here, a church choir there, a spoken word vocal by Heinz Riegler, the dulcet tones of Jace Lasek, Kellie Lloyd, Sukie Smith, Duncan Swift and even Franklin himself. Not to mention a riotous guitar solo from the one and only, J Mascis. All captivating individual performances that when combined showcase the collective brilliance of Bolts of Melody, a moving and enthralling project that transcends boundaries and genres.
To coincide with the release of “Film Noir,” Outer Battery Records will also revisit and reissue on vinyl Swervedriver’s legendary and nearly lost LP, “99th Dream,” which was originally released in 1998 shortly before the band broke up. Remastered and re-released in limited-edition “Coke Bottle Green” (400 copies), the extended double vinyl LP features three new remixes by Alan Moulder (My Bloody Valentine, Ride, Led Zeppelin). While the 3CD version packs in the remastered album and remixes on Disc One; the remastered live 1998 New York show on Disc Two, and a hour-long Disc Three featuring outtakes and studio demos.
Bolts of Melody’s “Film Noir” and Swervedriver’s “99th Dream” will be released on 19th January 2024 on Outer Battery Records and can by Pre-Ordered HERE. Purchase and Stream their new single “555” on Bandcamp:


01. 555
02. Hi-Rise Decade
03. The Village Sleeps
04. Harpsiglass
05. Vibratube
06. Suzuki’s Dream
07. Cops Raid Easy’s
08. Black Flower
09. The Isle is Full of Noises
10. Church Scene
11. LSME
12. Tomorrow’s World
13. Vamp


Adam Franklin, Locksley Taylor, Mikey Jones, Josh Stoddard, Jace Lasek, With: J Mascis (guitar solo: 8), Kellii Scott (drums: 11), Heinz Riegler (vocal: 6), Kellie Lloyd (vocal: 8), Sukie Smith (vocal: 8), Duncan Swift (whistling: 8), Bill Charney (bass: 8), The Besnard Lakes (Rock group: 3)

Bolts of Melody |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Instagram|

Outer Battery Records |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *