[News] Choreomanic posts rehearsal video “Walk With Urgency” from upcoming debut album

Choreomanic, the Experimental Prog/Funk project created by Pestilence bassist Joost van der Graaf, has posted a rehearsal room video performing “Walk With Urgency” with drummer Koen Herfst (VandenBerg, I CHAOS, Dew-Scented). The track is off his latest debut self-titled album released on February 18, 2022.

“The cool thing about this song is that the main groove and bassline are inspired by the intro of another recording by my first serious band Creepmime! That song was called ‘King Of Misrule’, from the album ‘Chiaroscuro’ 1995… Instrumental. The title refers to the way a junky walks with urgency on the way to scoring.” adds Graaf.

Watch “Walk With Urgency” through the YouTube player below:

The album features twelve bass-orientated tracks experimenting in realms of prog, funk, and everything else on the planet that has musically inspired Graaf over his thirty-plus year career. The full length’s lyrical concept explores Choreomania, an uncontrollable urge to dance, especially in a frenzied, convulsive manner also known as the Medieval Dancing plagues.

Graaf explains in further detail:

In 2019, I became pretty obsessed by the mysterious dancing plagues of the middle-ages. I started reading different studies, learning about the different theories about the cause. It’s still one of the biggest unsolved mysteries in history! One of the theories that made the most sense to me is that people had been suppressed by the ruling class (church, inquisition) for generations. There was collective fear of God and let’s not forget about the black plague! So there was this anxiety relief at a certain point that became infectious and caused convulsions and psychotic dancing, resulting in exhaustion, dehydration, and even death. It spread across Europe and there were large gatherings in towns and villages with frantically dancing people, accompanied by traveling musicians and all kinds of interested parties. These things sometimes became true festivals with people selling food, etc. With today’s reality, the phenomenon seems to have become relevant once again! This project is not only a musical statement, but also a call to action against (cultural) oppression. May everyone move and create in freedom!

Recommended for fans of Mr. Bungle, Zappa, John Zorn, Infectious Grooves, and Brian Setzer Orchestra, Choreomanic is due out February 18, 2022.

1. This Is Not A Drill (3:50)
2. Spun Sugar (2:45)
3. What You Get (3:26)
4. Red Flags (2:26)
5. Choreomanic (2:17)
6. Walk With Urgency (2:33)
7. Off With The Figurehead (2:18)
8. Time To Let It Out (2:08)
9. Calling God (4:28)
10. Take The Money Give It To Me Now (2:31)
11. Story About The Moon (2:46)
12. Away From The Sun (5:52)

Thijs Ronteltap / Keyboards
Jeroen Verberne / Trombone
Tommie Freke / Saxophone
Gidon Nunes Vaz / Trumpet & Bugle
Koen Herfst / Drums
Joost van der Graaf – Bass, Sampling, Voice & Percussion

Choreomanic |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply