[News] Closet Disco Queen & The Flying Raclettes reveal new music video for “Flugensaft”

Swiss Progressive Rock collective Closet Disco Queen & The Flying Raclettes have just revealed a music video for “Flugensaft“, a new song off their new album “Omelette du Fromage” released in early September via Hummus Records.  

Recorded live for Swiss National Radio RTS, the video for “Flugensaft,” watch it through the YouTube player below:

Closet Disco Queen & The Flying Raclettes is an extended version of the instrumental duo made of Luc Hess  and Jona Nido from CoilgunsThe OceanLouis Jucker, etc…, now welcoming Kevin Galland  (who also plays in Coilguns and is a well established live and studio sound engineer), and Chadi Messmer (a graduated bass player from the Luzern Jazz School playing with numerous projects such as Jacob HannesTancheBeurre, etc…) to join them as The Flying Raclettes
Closet Disco Queen originally started in 2014 when Coilguns was on hold as a joke with the pointless ambition to become a less talented version of the iconic Progressive Rock group known as The Mars Volta. The two piece have since then released one studio album, two eps and a live album. They’ve also toured for over three years all around the globe including as direct support to Baroness and Red Fang‘s European tours. Closet Disco Queen played both the London and Berlin edition of Desert Fest and have already set foot in several Swiss Festivals such as Montreux Jazz Festival, Festi’Neuch, or Palp Festival. It is the latter that offered the band the possibility to create an exclusive set to be presented for the first time on August 8, 2021 at Palp Festival. And thus The Flying Raclettes were born.

The end result was released on September 3rd in the form of a full-length album titled “Omelette du Fromage” on Jona Nido‘s record label Hummus Records. With a title that is meant to be a vibrant homage to “The Big Cheese” episode of Cartoon Network’s animated series “Dexter’s Laboratory” from 1996, “Omelette du Fromage” is an organic yet powerful piece of instrumental and loud Rock music. The additional musicians (bass and guitar) have allowed the former two piece to enhance their songwriting and dig deeper into their sound, implementing stronger Punk, Progressive as well as Psych and Ambient elements in their music. Bands quoted as inspiration during the creative process went from The Mars Volta, Breach, The Hives or Goat. The album was written, recorded, mixed and mastered in twenty days by the four-piece and as mentioned before was the result of a project initiated by Palp Festival. They gave Closet Disco Queen the opportunity to live in the tiny mountain village of Bruson and an access to an abandoned school where the band built a DIY mobile studio, started writing and 15 days later the album was sent to the pressing plant.


1. Melolo-Aromatomat (08:11)
2. Glutentag (04:48)
3. Flugensaft (03:41)
4. Goussepaille (03:09)
5. Spartacuisse (03:24)
6. Flugantaj Raketoj (03:09)
7. Gigadodane (12:27)


Closet Disco Queen are: Luc Hess & Jonathan Nido
The Flying Raclettes are : Kevin Galland & Chadi Messmer

Closet Disco Queen |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

The Flying Raclettes |Spotify|

Hummus Records |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply