[News] Folk-Prog duo Jordsjø shares new single “Breitemark” from upcoming album “Pastoralia”

Norwegian Prog Rock duo Jordsjø are steeped in the traditions of the kind of Nordic Prog rock that emerged during the last century, but that doesn’t mean that the music produced by multi instrumentalist Håkon Oftung (TusmørkeBlack Magic)and drummer Kristian Frøland rests there. Far from it, because what Jordsjø have managed to do is take what was best from that era’s Prog rock, and make it entirely their own by adding a folk-inspired twist to a plethora of interesting melodies.

And two weeks from now, the 7th May to be precise, Jordsjø‘s third full-length album “Pastoralia” will hit the streets on Karisma Records.  But in the meantime, band and label have released another track from the album to whet the fan’s appetites.

The track in question is “Beitemark,” and Jordsjø gave us this insight into it: “Beitemark is about nostalgia and the desire to gradually leave behind the monotony of daily life with its trivial chores, and to rise up into the starlit sky.  On this song, we have actively used analogue Space Echo to give it an extra cosmic vibe in order to contrast the simple, down to earth depictions of local nature and the surging emotions  of the final part of the song. “

New single Beitemark can be downloaded or streamed here: https://karismarecords.fanlink.to/jordsjo_beitemark

Pastoralia sees Jordsjø moving  further into a more jazzy, progressive  musical territory as the band creates  an album that is a musical journey that ranges from minimalist mellotron passages to a full on rock tempest.   It is an album based on dreams, a longing for freedom and the fictional place Pastoralia, where every day is like tropical nights in Northern Norway, where the forest people dance around campfires.

The album was recorded and produced in its entirety between March and November 2020 in the basement of Bjørnerød Gård in Våler, Østfold by Jordsjø themselves, and joining the duo on Pastoralia are a number of guests including Ola Mile Bruland (Actionfredag), Håkon Knutzen, Vilde Mortensen Storesund, Mats Lemjan, Christian Meaas Svendsen and Åsa Ree (MeerTusmørkeWobbler).

With artwork by Sindre Foss Skancke, the album is set for release on Karisma Records on the 7th May, Pastoralia will be available on CD, digital and black vinyl formats as well as in a blue vinyl version which will be limited to 600 copies. The album can be pre-ordered right here: https://www.karismarecords.no/product/artist/jordsjo/

1. Prolog 
2. Skumring I Karesuando 
3. Mellom Mjødurt, Marisko og Søstermarihånd 
4. Pastoralia 
5. Fuglehviskeren 
6. Beitemark 
7. Vettedans 
8. Jord III

Jordsjø |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Soundcloud|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Karisma Records |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Soundcloud|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply