[News] Ghost Rhythms published the official video for “Thoughtography” from new album

French Jazz Prog/Fusion band Ghost Rhythms published the official video for “Thoughtography” taken from new album “Spectral Music” out on November 19, 2021 via Cuneiform Records. Watch the video through the YouTube player below:

Spectral Music” is Ghost Rhythms’ second release on Cuneiform Records after 2019’s “Live at Yoshiwara,” a live album consisting almost entirely of new material, and is their sixth full-length studio effort. After delegating much of the writing on Yoshiwara to their bandmates, the band’s leaders, drummer Xavier Gélard and pianist Camille Petit were back firmly at the helm.

Gélard had toyed with the idea of using the title Spectral Music for a while, but it only began to make sense conceptually during the writing process. However, the real theme of the album, remoteness and telepathy, came late in the process. The parallel with the current Covid crisis was of course not lost on Gélard and Petit.

This is the second album we have made remotely due to the current situation. We’ve always used overdubbing in our recordings, but never to quite that extent. The process suggested another parallel – the notion that modern technology (the Internet of course but you could argue it really began with the telephone), creates an illusion that distance is abolished. For me it’s not so much communication as a form of fake telepathy. If anything, technology actually reinforces the sense of remoteness. At least that’s the way I felt during the process of making albums that way.

Ghost Rhythms played their first concert with an audience in 18 months in late September and more are planned from November onwards. “It felt like learning to walk again, but it was great to interact with an audience!


  1. Parapente • Paraglider
  2. Thoughtography • Thoughtography
  3. Odradek • Odradek
  4. Le Mont Marsal • Mount Marsal
  5. À Distance • A Distance
  6. Spectral Music, 1 • Spectral Music, 1
  7. Vie de Wyatt Hopper • The Life of Wyatt Hopper
  8. Spectral Music, 2 • Spectral Music, 2
  9. L’Autre Versant • The Other Side
  10. Uchimizu • Uchimizu
  11. Tumulte Opaque • Opaque Uproar


Guillaume Aventurin / Guitar
Julien Bigorgne / Flute, Oud
Alexis Collin / Accordion, Sound Manipulation
Xavier Gélard / Drums, Guitars, Voices
Gregory Kosovski / Bass
Morgan Lowenstein / Percussion
Nadia Mejri-Chapelle / Cello
Tom Namias / Guitars, Bouzouki
Camille Petit / Keyboards
Maxime Thiébaut / Alto, Soprano and Baritone Sax
Antoine Villedieu / Violins


Sarah Baroux / Voices (8)
Sonia Bricout / Voices (11)
Jérôme Lacquet / Trumpet (2, 3)

Ghost Rhythms |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Instagram|Spotify|

Cuneiform Records |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *