[News] Helicon published the official video for the track “Last Tango In Glasgow” taken from new album

Glasgow, UK based Cinematic Experimental/Psychedelic Rock band Helicon published the official video for the track “Last Tango In Glasgow” taken from new album “God Intentions” out on April 28, 2023 via Fuzz Club. Watch the video through the YouTube player below:

Last Tango In Glasgow” is taken from Helicon‘s new album “God Intentions,” out now on Fuzz Club.

Video Credits:
Cast: David R. Montgomery
Director / Producer / Editor: Sophie Barrott
Assistant Director / Photography: Thomas Edwards
Poster Design: Luke O’Reilly

Talking about “Last Tango In Glasgow,” guitarist/vocalist John-Paul Hughes says: “Last Tango In Glasgow is a song about having to let go for the greater good but remaining thankful it ever happened. It’s the first song I ever wrote on piano and our old friend Bennie Torrance collaborated on the lyrics. I think we managed to capture something of that old, romantic, Glaswegian spirit. Shot on 8mm film, the video tells the story of someone dancing, alone, with their memories. We were on a band photo shoot in Glasgow’s Barras market one day and got talking to an interesting character running a stall.
He turned out to be an actor, David R Montgomery, so when Sophie Barrott told me her vision for how our hero should look, I knew exactly who to cast.’

Purchase the single on Bandcamp: https://heliconglasgow.bandcamp.com/track/last-tango-in-glasgow-2

A masterclass in Cinematic Psychedelia, “God Intentions” is the third studio album from Glasgow outfit Helicon and out on April 28, 2023 on Fuzz Club. Their most ambitious and collaborative album to date, it was recorded at Dystopia, Glasgow with producers Luigi Pasquini and Jason Shaw, mastered by RIDE’s Mark Gardener and includes contributions from the Rhona MacFarlane String Quartet, Lavinia Blackwall (Trembling Bells), Mark O’Donnell (Tomorrow Syndicate), Sotho Houle (French avant-garde violinist) and Anna McCracken. Talking about the new record, guitarist/vocalist John-Paul Hughes says:

“‘God Intentions’ is inspired by my brother Gary’s story and a few other influences. It’s a journey through regret, redemption and resurrection. Our familiar darkness is there, but the record carries a fresh and uplifting positivity. I had a clear idea of how I wanted it to sound and feel long before it began. We’re so pleased we achieved it. We managed to hold true to the idea whilst allowing the string quartet, Sotho, Lavinia, Anna, Mark, Jason, Luigi and other collaborators the space to put their mark on it. The album art, by San Francisco-based collage artist Nina Theda Black, captures the depth and breadth of themes and sounds we brought together to create a kind of motion in your mind.”

Purchase the LP here: https://helicon.lnk.to/intentions


01. Dark Matter 01:24
02. Flume 05:28
03. Château H 04:17
04. Heliconia 07:29
05. Disobey 03:21
06. Zen Roller 04:40
07. Whiplash 01:58
08. God Intentions 04:07
09. Last Tango In Glasgow 04:00
10. Tae The Moon 07:26
11. Starlounger 00:34

Helicon |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Fuzz Club Records |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *