[News] Hjelvik release the video of the first single “North Tsar” from the debut-album

Norwegian Folk Metallers Hjelvik have released the video for their first single “North Tsar,” taken from their debut album “Welcome To Hel“, out on November 20 via Nuclear Blast.

The censored video can be seen below:

Hjelvik is the new solo band of former frontman, lyricist and co-founder of Kvelertak, Erlend Hjelvik. After playing live all over the world with the biggest bands on the planet like Metallica, Slayer and Ghost and winning four Norwegian Spelleman awards, Erlend split from the group in 2018 and spent the last two years composing and creating the first album by Hjelvik.

Frontman Erlend Hjelvik comments: “It’s great to give people a first taste of what awaits them through the amazing ‘North Tsar’ video that the talented guys at Grupa13 have created for me!“.

Erlend adds: “It was a fantastic experience, the day Coronavirus restrictions were increased, I took the first flight from Norway to Poland and shot the entire video in just one day in a Viking village called Jomsborg. . Grupa13 did an excellent job with its team, which included well-trained Viking reenactors, a fantastic SFX team, and even brought in wolves and a huge crow. They were intense and efficient shots. It was crazy to be in the middle of a Viking battle during the performance of my song, especially since the village was open to tourists who stood in the middle of the road to look and take selfies, making the experience rather bizarre! Nevertheless, I had a lot of fun and I’m extremely happy with the result“.

Hjelvik‘s first solo album “Welcome To Hel”, based on Norse mythology and history, includes all the trappings of profitable Viking plunder. The album was recorded and mixed at The Hallowed Halls in Portland, Oregon, USA by Justin Phelps (Joe Satriani, Poison Idea, Slough Feg) and mastered by Grammy winner Alan Douches (Mastodon, Converge, Baroness). Matt Pike (Sleep, High On Fire) and Mike Scalzi (Slough Feg) participate as special guests. The legendary Joe Petagno, author of the iconic and timeless images we all know of bands such as Motörhead, Led Zeppelin, Nazareth, created the artwork for the album “Welcome To Hel” and the Hjelvik logo.

Disc pre-orders are available here: http://nblast.de/Hjelvik-WelcomeToHel

The album can be previewed on Spotify, Apple Music and Deezer: http://nblast.de/HjelvikWelcomePreSave

Watch Hjelvik‘s announcement (in English) here: https://youtu.be/UneH8BFYG1k
Watch Hjelvik‘s announcement (in Norwegian) here: https://youtu.be/1Do_TcBozqQ

Erlend Hjelvik / Vocals, Lyrics and Songwriting
Rob Steinway / Lead Guitar
Remi André Nygård / Rhythm Guitar
Alexis Lieu / Bass
Kevin Foley / Drums

Hjelvik |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Nuclear Blast |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply