[News] Katatonia announce details of their new live album “Dead Air”

Swedish band Kataonia are to release a new live album featuring an extensive set of fan favourites plus the live premiere of 3 songs from “City Burials,” captured during their May 2020 lockdown session.

Formed in 1991 by Jonas Renkse & Anders Nyström, 2020 saw Katatonia present their eleventh studio album “City Burials.” Following in its footsteps, “Dead Air” is set to capture the recent strange times.

With the unforeseen global event of Covid-19 which resulted in touring being made all but impossible for artists internationally, Katatonia conducted a more intimate “lockdown” show which was streamed live from Studio Grondahl, Stockholm on 9th May. “Dead Air” offers a full 88-minute set containing 20 tracks from the band’s extensive repertoire to date, whilst also debuting three of the “City Burials” album tracks in a live setting.

“Due to an overwhelming demand, we are proud to confirm that our lockdown livestream from Gröndahl earlier this year will now see a physical release where you can re-experience the #20 most wanted songs exclusively voted by our fans from all around the world. This very special evening of May 9th will forever serve us as a memory of something equally weird as fantastic, so it feels essential to make it available as something you can touch and own forever”, comments Anders Nyström.

The recording, mixing & engineering work was orchestrated by David Castillo, notable for his extensive body of work with Katatonia to date, and the performance itself was professionally filmed by Blackbox Video. The artwork has been created by long-running collaborator, Travis Smith.

Dead Air” will be released on the 13th November as a gatefold double LP; a limited edition 3-disc set featuring 2 audio discs and DVD format and digitally and is available to pre-order now from https://katatoniaband.lnk.to/DeadAir)

Track List:

  1. Lethean (Dead Air Session)[06:00]
  2. Teargas (Dead Air Session) [03:17]
  3. Serein (Dead Air Session)[04:47]
  4. Deliberation (Dead Air Session)[03:57]
  5. The Winter Of Our Passing (Dead Air Session)[03:08]
  6. Ghost Of The Sun (Dead Air Session)[04:07]
  7. The Racing Heart (Dead Air Session)[04:26]
  8. Soil`s Song (Dead Air Session)[04:07]
  9. Old Heart Falls (Dead Air Session)[04:25]
  10. Forsaker (Dead Air Session)[04:10]
  11. Tonight`s Music (Dead Air Session)[04:22]
  12. In The White (Dead Air Session)[04:57]
  13. Leaders (Dead Air Session)[04:17]
  14. Lacquer (Dead Air Session)[04:51]
  15. Omerta (Dead Air Session)[03:09]
  16. My Twin (Dead Air Session)[03:38]
  17. Unfurl (Dead Air Session)[04:52]
  18. July (Dead Air Session)[04:48]
  19. Evidence (Dead Air Session)[05:29]
  20. Behind The Blood (Dead Air Session)[05:06]

Jonas Renkse
/ Vocals
Anders Nyström / Guitar
Niklas Sandin / Bass
Daniel Moilanen / Drums
Roger Öjersson / Guitar

Katatonia |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|Soundcloud|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply