[News] Legendary Canterbury Scene band Gong unveil second single “All Clocks Reset”

Following “Tiny Galaxies,” the first piece of the intergalactic puzzle, Gong return for the second instalment from the forthcoming album “Unending Ascending,” out November 3rd, 2023 via Kscope.

With a suitably cosmic video from long time live collaborator Fruit Salad Lights, “All Clocks Reset” takes the mind, body and spirit into realms that only Gong can conjure.

Purchase and Stream “All Clocks Reset,” here: https://gong.lnk.to/unending

Watch the official video through the YouTube player below:

Regarding the track, the band had the following to say : “Angular guitars! Pointillistic horns! Cataclysmic words! With gods and monsters on their tail, Gong insist you take a trip on the kinetic mainline to experience the dissolution of both ego and sense of self through the universal vehicle of knotty psychedelic rock. The apocalypse never felt so good.

Following the success of 2019’s “The Universe Also Collapses,” Gong’s intergalactic voyage has once more entered Earth’s orbit with their new album “Unending Ascending.”

Set for release on 3rd November 2023, the new album promises another mind-expanding set of songs. Opener “Tiny Galaxies” crackles with the electricity of supercharged sixties Psych-Pop, while “My Guitar Is A Spaceship” is as close to an anthem as anything Gong have previously recorded. This uptempo, single-riff stomper is already a live favourite, garnering a positive reaction from a crowd of 90,000 Blur fans at Wembley Stadium in July 2023, when Gong frontman Kavus Torabi dropped it into his DJ set before Paul Weller took to the stage.

Ship of Ishtar” is a rapt cosmic hymn where Gong make time itself stand still. Jet streams of kaleidoscopic melodies envelop “O, Arcturus,” to be followed by the lively polyrhythmic angularity of “All Clocks Reset.” “Choose Your Goddess,” a surprisingly muscular slice of ritualistic Trance Rock, ratchets up the intensity yet further. On “Lunar Invocation” the band summons the Moon deities of yore with ululating feedback and squalling cymbals before the post-credits of “Asleep Do We Lay” lull lugubriously, gently beginning the cycle all over again.

About Gong:

The universe of Gong began in 1969 when Daevid Allen was inspired by a profound Psychedelic vision. A founder member of Soft MachineAllen incorporated his spiritual and metaphysical leanings into an evolving collective. More a mythology than a band in the conventional sense, Gong established itself as one of the most unique, innovative and Experimental Rock groups of the seventies, through an exploratory mix of Rock, Jazz and Psychedelia with elements of mysticism and surrealism, unafraid to deliver its messages directly, obliquely or whimsically. The current incarnation, who were put together by Daevid after his swansong album with Gong, “I See You,” honour his intention that Gong do not die with him, urging the band to “carry it on into new unknown heights and depths far beyond anything I could ever imagine myself.”

The collective of Kavus TorabiDave SturtFabio GolfettiIan East and Cheb Nettles is the most stable in Gong‘s illustrious history, having written, recorded and toured together for eight years since Allen‘s passing. A dynamic, powerful and explosive live band, their music draws from the credo of the original Gong while remaining committed to pushing the composition, performances and message into new realms, paying no mind to nostalgia. Gong in 2023 continue the ethics, attitude and lifestyle that was always woven into the fabric of the band.


01. Tiny Galaxies
02. My Guitar is a Spaceship
03. Ship Of Ishtar
04. O Arcturus
05. All Clocks Reset
06. Choose Your Goddess
07. Lunar Invocation
08. Asleep Do We Lay

Gong |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Kscope |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *