[News] Legendary Prog Folk Rock band Strawbs to release their new album “The Magic Of It All”

We are proud to announce the superb new album “The Magic Of It All” – Released on CD, Vinyl and Digitally on the 14th July.

Pre-order the album here: cherryred.co/StrawbsTheMagicOfItAll

Strawbs were high in the charts with “Grave New World” and “Bursting at the Seams” fifty years ago, in the early 1970s. It coincided with a pivotal moment in the struggle for freedom in South Africa when students and workers launched a new wave of resistance against so-called “resettlement”. The resistance in South Africa identified with Strawbs songs, especially “Part of the Union,” “Lay Down,” and “New World.” Strawbs albums sold well and became highly prized.

Recognising this, South African documentary maker, Niel van Deventer, approached David Cousins with the idea of producing a documentary about Strawbs and the band’s influence around the world. Niel wanted to film while new songs were being recorded in a Cape Town studio. David Cousins came up with a bunch of his finest songs, “Blue Weaver” flew over to produce the sessions and co-write some of the songs, while John Ford joined in with his contribution to the songs from New York.

The album is called “The Magic Of It All” – 11 brand-new songs recorded at the “Academy of Sound Engineering” in Cape Town in September 2022. Engineer Peter Pearlson worked with Paul Simon when he was recording South African musicians for the “Graceland” album. The South African musicians on this album include Mauritz Lotz, Schalk Joubert, Kevin Gibson, Byron Abrahams, Simangele Mashazi, Marzia Barry and Luna Paige. Cathryn Craig and Nicole Tee joined the singers from the UK.

The Magic Of It All” is released simultaneously on vinyl, CD, download and streaming by Cherry Red on July 14, 2023. The documentary “The Magic Of It All” will be released later this year.


1 Ready (We Are Ready)
2 The Magic of it All
3 All Along the Bay
4 Everybody Means Something to Someone

1 Our World
2 The Time Has Come (for Giving Back)
3 Slack Jaw Alice
4 Paris Nights
5 Wiser Now

Strawbs |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|Spotify|

Burning Shed Records |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|

Cherry Red Records |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *