[News] LIZZARD unveil the official video for the single “Black Sheep” taken from upcoming new album

French progressive/alternative rock trio LIZZARD has unveiled the official video for the first single “Black Sheep” taken from their upcoming full-length album, “Mesh,” set to release on September 27th, 2024 via Pelagic Records. Watch the video through the YouTube player below:

Capturing the energetic, lighting-in-a-bottle optimism of the late ’90s Post-Punk/Art-Rock scene and reigniting it with simmering potential, “Mesh” sees LIZZARD out out to reclaim the creative, collaborative energy that has fuelled them for over a decade.

Released today, lead single “Black Sheep” explores the daily dichotomy of body and mind through impassioned, introspective lyrics atop the band’s bracing one-two punch of thunderous, polyrhythmic drums and colossal riffs. LIZZARD have also shared a striking video for the single, which sees the dark, angular edges of their sound colliding, both figuratively and physically, with an ethereal dancing presence clothed in flowing white bandages.

Having first met in 2006, Katy Elwell (UK/Drums), Mat Ricou (FR/Guitar & Vocals) and Will Knox (UK/Bass) quickly realised they shared not only similar creative influences but also a distinct musical vision. The trio set out to craft an unmistakably contemporary Rock sound that sought to resonate emotionally with the listener whilst being unafraid to challenge them too. The result is Heavy, hook-laden and so much greater than the sum of its parts.

It was the band’s 2007, self-produced mini-album “Venus” that set them on their meteoric trajectory; produced by Rhys Fulber (Paradise Lost, Fear Factory, Front Line Assembly), it caught the attention of Progressive Rock audiences, labels and contemporaries alike. This underground success lead to LIZZARD supporting acts such as Gojira and Punish Yourself in France before heading to L.A. to work with Fulber on their debut album proper, 2012’s “Out Of Reach,” which truly put the band on the map as a poly-rhythmic powerhouse.

Subsequent European tours and shows with the likes of stoner-metal legends High On Fire and iconic Fusion drummer Terry Bozzio saw LIZZARD expand their audience significantly and refine their sound even further, with their 2014 live-recorded and self-produced sophomore album “Majestic” serving as testament to their formidable musicianship; darker, deeper and rawer than ever. Hundreds of shows across Europe and the US later, the band returned to the studio to work on 2018’s “Shift” with producer Peter Junge before hitting the road again, this time with Prog heroes including ORK (King Crimson/Porcupine Tree) and The Pineapple Thief.

LIZZARD’s incredible momentum was abruptly brought to a halt by the pandemic in 2020. However the band were already hard at work on their fourth full-length album, 2021’s “Eroded,” recorded again with Peter Junge and the band’s first release through Pelagic. Initially denied the energy of the live performances on which they thrive, LIZZARD eventually toured Europe with “Eroded” in Autumn 2022 opening for Soen before embarking on their own headline tour in Spring 2023. LizZard also used the global lockdown as an opportunity to reinterpret “Eroded” as an intimate, short film recorded live in isolation without any audience.

This experience had a profound effect on the trio. Recorded by the band in the abandoned factory they use as their creative base and produced again by now long-time friend and collaborator Peter Junge, “Mesh” is LIZZARD unleashing the raw, spontaneous might of their pent up live sound through the production precision of their studio experience. Themes of duality and control, whether it’s regaining it or letting it go, run right through the album in some of LIZZARD’s most honest and introspective work to date; asking questions of who and what we truly are behind the veil, underneath the mesh of appearances we all use to protect, but more often mask, our emotions and desires.

LIZZARD on “Black Sheep“: “Black Sheep is about the eternal duality of body and mind, black and white, yin and yang, that we all face each and every day.

Order/Stream/Download here: https://orcd.co/lizzard

01. Unity
02. New Page
03. Elevate
04. Black Sheep
05. Home Seek
06. Mad Hatters
07. The Unseen
08. Mesh
09. Minim
10. The Beholder

Katy Elwell
/ Drums
William Knox / Bass
Mathieu Ricou / Vocals & Guitar

LIZZARD |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|X (Twitter)|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Pelagic Records |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|X (Twitter)|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *