[News] Oblivion Protocol launches official lyric video for “The Fall (Part 1)” taken froom debut album

Oblivion Protocol – the Prog Rock/Metal supergroup led by Threshold keyboard player and songwriter Richard West – will release their anticipated debut album “The Fall Of The Shires” on August 18, 2023 through Atomic Fire Records. In advance of the record’s release, the band today unveils their latest single, “The Fall (Part 1),” and an accompanying lyric video. Watch the video created by Ingo Spörl at Hard Media through the YouTube player below:

West comments: This was the first song I wrote for The Fall Of The Shires and was originally intended for Threshold. You’ll notice that it has a strong melodic connection to the opening song from Legends Of The Shires and also features a beautiful guest solo by Threshold’s Karl Groom.

The Fall Of The Shires” will be available in CD-Digipak, LP (Green), and Digital formats.

Pre-Order “The Fall Of The Shires” in the physical format of your choice, Pre-Save it on your preferred DSP or Pre-Order it digitally to receive “The Fall (Part 1),” “This Is Not A Test” and “Forests In The Fallout” instantly here: https://oblivionprotocol.afr.link/thefalloftheshiresPR

Written as a sequel to Threshold’s 2017 concept album “Legends Of The Shires,” “The Fall Of The Shires” delivers a dense, climactic sound somewhere between Rush, Steven WilsonThe Dark Side Of The Moon-era Pink Floyd and Hard Rock masters Ghost, all the while providing the listener with clever little nods, bows and references to the first installment.

The Fall Of The Shires” cover, which was designed by celebrated artist Thomas Ewerhard who was responsible for so many of Threshold’s classic covers such as “Hypothetical” and “Subsurface,” depicts the downfall of the world shown on “Legends Of The Shires.”

Oblivion Protocol‘s lineup is completed with three renowned musicians: guitarist Ruud Jolie (Within Temptation), bassist Simon Andersson (Darkwater), and drummer Darby Todd (Devin Townsend). Additionally, Threshold’s Karl Groom has contributed some truly enthralling guitar solos to the record.

Subscribe to Atomic Fire Records on YouTube HERE. Listen to “The Fall (Part 1)” as well as other new tracks in the AFR New Releases playlist on Spotify HERE.


  1. The Fall (Part 1)
  2. Tormented
  3. Public Safety Broadcast
  4. This Is Not A Test
  5. Storm Warning
  6. Vertigo
  7. Forests In The Fallout
  8. The Fall (Part 2)


Richard West / Vocals, Keyboards
Ruud Jolie / Guitars
Simon Andersson / Bass
Darby Todd / Drums

Oblivion Protocol |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|

Atomic Fire Records |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *