[News] Pia Isa unveil the official lyric video for the title-track from upcoming album “Dissolve”

Viken, Norway based Drone Rocker Pia Isa (Superlynx) has unveiled the official lyric video for the title-track from upcoming album “Dissolve” due out on June 28, 2024 via Argonauta Records. Watch the video through the YouTube player below:

Norwegian Psychedelic Drone Rocker Pia Isa, also known as a member of Superlynx, is set to release a new full-length album titled “Dissolve” on June 28th via Argonauta Records on vinyl.

The new album feels like a further walk on the path I started with my first solo album but with a few different turns. This time I worked more with layers of vocal harmonies and gave my old dark sounding acoustic nylon guitar some space among the heavy distorted guitars. I am super stoked to have Gary Arce once again laying his stunning guitar tones on most of the songs and about Ole Teigen’s brilliant drums and sound work. Dissolvement is a recurring theme on the album, but so is the idea of reassembling the pieces back together in new and different ways.” – says Pia.

Today is also the day Pia Isa presents the title-track in the form of a lyric video, now available here:

Pia about the single: “The first single Dissolve is the title track and I guess it tries to capture the feeling of falling apart but also holding on to the pieces of your- self for when the time comes that you feel able to start putting them back together. Knowing that they won’t fit the same way they used to, but maybe a different way could be even better. Musically I wanted the song to catch a heavy sad feeling but also a lot of hopefulness.

Pre-Order the album on Bandcamp: https://piaisa.bandcamp.com/album/dissolve


Side A

  1. Transform
  2. Into the Fire
  3. Dissolve
  4. One Above Ten Below

Side B

  1. New Light
  2. Emerald
  3. Tide
  4. Drown or Float

Having played and written music for most of her life and always played in bands a solo project was been brewing in Pia’s mind for a long time until she started her solo endeavour in 2021. Her debut album “Distorted Chants” was released in 2022 followed by the EP “Burning Time” early 2024, both on Italian label Argonauta Records.

Her solo music is rooted in slow Heavy Drones but also has a lighter, dreamy and hopeful side. Her riffs are slow, Heavy and minimalistic and her vocals dreamy and haunting.

On the new album Pia has worked more with layers of vocal harmonies and has given an old dark sounding nylon acoustic guitar more space in her massive distorted soundscape. In addition to singing she plays bass, riff guitars and mini- malistic guitar leads while Gary Arce (Yawning Man, Fatso Jetson, Big Scenic Nowhere, Ten East etc) plays additional guitar melodies on six of the album’s eight songs. The drums are played by Ole Teigen (Superlynx etc) who also record- ed, mixed and produced the album with Pia co-producing at Crowtown Recordings.

Pia‘s lyrics are always personal and honest. She wrote “Dissolve” at a time where a lot of major things in her own life, but also in the world, changed, were uncertain and seemed to dis-solve. Dissolvement is a recurring theme in the songs, but so is the idea of moulding things back together in a new form. As Pia often writes what she needs to hear herself, and needs to tell herself, in her lyrics she wonders if there are others out there needing to hear similar things. On this album she is trying to create hope that no matter how scary major changes and the unknown is it can also be an opportunity for new and better ways and ideas.

In addition to her solo project Pia has spent a decade playing bass and doing vocals in heavy psych band Superlynx and recently started the new project SoftSun with Gary Arce and Dan Joeright (Earth Moon Earth, The Rentals etc).

Pia Isa |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Instagram|Spotify|

Argonauta Records|Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *