[News] Pleasure Forever share first single from “Distal,” upcoming first new album in 20 years

20 years after the band’s last proper album “Alter” was released on Sub Pop — with the catalog number Sub Pop #666, no less — Pleasure Forever returns in August with a new mini-album titled “Distal.” It’s as hard to characterize as they’ve always been. The first single “Neolith Nonce” is available everywhere via Linktr.ee. Watch the official lyric video through the YouTube player below:

Moments of Heavy hitting Rock tendencies tie together their continuing exploration of 60s Psychedelia and their peculiarly warped feel of Classic Rock from an alternate universe, dashed with hypnotic and minimal rhythms reminiscent of heady Krautrock. “Distal” will appeal to fans of Roxy MusicThe DoorsThe VSSCANAmon Düül IINick Cave & The Bad Seeds

Following the surprising and untimely deaths of old friends, tour mates and family in recent years, the members of Pleasure Forever, vocalist/keyboardist Andrew Rothbard, drummer Dave Clifford and guitarist Joshua Hughes reconnected to catch up. They soon began discussing trading home recorded ideas, which led to a frenzy of file trading. A batch of new songs was rather quickly built and the members self-recorded and mixed 7 tracks of material that became “Distal.” 

In the two decades between proper albums, Rothbard has released multiple solo albums under his full name Andrew Douglas Rothbard, Clifford played drums in instrumental post-metal band Red Sparowes, as well as MarriagesJail Weddings and more, Hughes sang and played guitar in Relapse Records sludge metal trio Rabbits. The three members formerly played together in Synth-Punk pioneers The VSS in the mid-90s. Pleasure Forever released a collection of B-sides and cover songs “Bodies Need Rest” in 2007.

Distal” will be available on digital and on limited edition clear and black 12″ vinyl variants on August 25, 2023 via Solid Brass Records. Pre-orders are available here: https://shop.solidbrassrecords.com/collections/pleasure-forever // https://pleasureforever.bandcamp.com/album/distal


  1. Neolith Nonce
  2. Sigil Pathos
  3. To The Last Recorded Syllable of Time
  4. A Heavy Involvement in Unreality
  5. Lexicorpus Grimoire
  6. Sunshine Super Hits
  7. Traipsing Elegiac

Pleasure Forever |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Instagram|Spotify|

Solid Brass Records |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *