[News] Progressive Pop-Rock group Major Parkinson reveals new single “Live Forever”

Major Parkinson continue their magnificent return with their new single, “Live Forever.” It releases September 9th on all major streaming platforms, and is the second single from the highly anticipated  “Valesa – Chapter I,” due October 7th on Apollon Records.

Live Forever” is a technical powerhouse of a song that evokes a particular late 80s nostalgia, while fusing Major Parkinson‘s signature elements of atmospheric synths, intricate rhythms and subtle virtuosity with the kind of anthemic pop hooks the decade was known for. Far from being pastiche, this amalgamation treads new ground for the 7-piece, as progressive electronic elements take center stage for the first time in the band’s career.

Returning guest vocalist, Linn Frøkedal (Megaphonic Thrift, Misty Coast) provides her considerable talents to a timeless chorus alongside the enigmatic baritone of Jon Ivar Kolbotn, colliding like seagulls in the neon haze. 

Perfectly encapsulating the progressive spirit of Major Parkinson, the song serves as a bridge between the dark complexity of their past work, and their reinvention in a chromatic aberration of modern pop music. Out of the darkness, into the light: Major Parkinson remain progressive in the true sense of the word.

Marrying Heavy philosophical questions with the playfulness of this pop anthem, Major Parkinson  explores a paradox between the complexities of life and the simplicity of what we consume. This juxtaposition is highlighted throughout the song by the deep resonance of Jon Ivar Kollbotn’s enigmatic voice, and the airy, glittery counterpart of Peri Winkle (Claudia Cox).

Purchase and stream the single here: https://orcd.co/majorlivef

Major Parkinson announces their long-awaited return with the new album “Valesa – Chapter I: Velvet Prison,” releasing on CD, vinyl, cassette and all streaming platforms on October 7, 2022. The ever-evolving seven-piece has emerged from the primordial darkness of 2017’s “Blackbox,” into a neon haze of Progressive Synthpop/Rock. Having chased the ever-elusive Ghost of Pop music from the early days of their eponymous debut album to the present, the band has always thrived within a melodic core – often clad under a shroud of progressive experimentation. On “Valesa – Chapter I, the shackles are off, the curtain pulled back, as their compositions extrapolate with new focus and invention. Not necessarily less intricate, but definitely more Pop.

The new album features 17 meticulously crafted songs that explore new sonic territories, set to the political backdrop of the 1980s as they tap into the Zeitgeist of a period in human history that proved tantamount in shaping our world. From the halls of an abandoned American high school to the wine-stained head of Gorbachev — the album evokes an all-encompassing feeling of uneasy nostalgia, like humanity collectively looking back in time with a pair of cracked, rose-tinted glasses.

“Synth anthems set in a disco of nuclear anxiety.”, says vocalist Jon Ivar Kollbotn. “In this day and age, life is passing before our eyes before we can grasp anything at all, and we become spectators in our own lives. Like confused, geriatric visitors in a wax museum. As time passes by, the past is becoming brighter and nostalgia is growing bigger.”

The instrumentation is powerful and evocative. Guitars swell with subtlety as the bass and drums provide the groundwork for an explosion of synths as keyboardist, Lars Christian Bjørknes, takes center stage to create something wholly unique. Returning female vocalist, Linn Frøkedal, joins with the band’s very own Peri Winkle to complement Jon Ivar Kolbotn’s enraptured vocals and guide us through the brightly coloured maze of “Valesa – Chapter I.”

Weaving between nostalgia and failed revolutions, this album is a completely unique star in the soundtrack of 2022, offering you something that has rarely been done in any field of music.

 the album right here: https://www.apollonrecords.no/shop
Friends from the US please order here: https://apollonrecords.8merch.us/


  1. Goodbye Blue Monday
  2. Behind the Next Door
  3. Saturday Night
  4. Ride in the Whirlwind
  5. Live Forever
  6. Sadlands
  7. Intermezzo
  8. Jonah
  9. Velvet Moon
  10. Irina Margareta
  11. The House
  12. The Room
  13. Posh-Apocalypse
  14. MOMA
  15. Lemon Symphony
  16. Fantasia Me Now!
  17. Heroes

Major Parkinson |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Apollon Records |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply