[News] SF Garage Rock Legends Flamin’ Groovies release vintage live album “Rockin’ the Roundhouse”

Out of all of the bands that burst forth from the immensely fertile ‘60s Bay Area musical soil, the Flamin’ Groovies were undoubtedly one of the most unique. Formed in San Francisco in the mid-‘60s by guitarist Cyril Jordan, vocalist Roy Loney, and bassist George Alexander, the band combined straight ahead guitar –driven Rock and Roll, with Garage Rock and a bit of vaudeville thrown in for good measure.

During the seventies, after Roy Loney left and was replaced by lead singer Chris Wilson, the band changed its direction, being more greatly influenced by the Beatles and the Byrds, and becoming one of the foremost purveyors of what soon became known as “Power Pop.” They released three classic albums on Sire Records, two of which were produced by Dave Edmunds. Like many of their Bay Area counterparts, the Groovies truly shone in a live setting where Jordan and company could truly display their brand of high energy Rock and Roll. The release of live recordings of the band has always been, and continues to be, a cause for great celebration.

Coming this July 07, 2023 Flamin’ Groovies will be releasing “Rockin’ the Roundhouse,” a killer live album of vintage recordings from live shows in London in 1978 and 1976 that show exactly why this band maintains its fervent fanbase. The set includes not one but two performances of the Groovies’ most well-known song, “Shake Some Action,” along with “Don’t Put Me On,” “Sometimes,” “Between the Lines” and a superb cover of The Beatles’ “Please Please Me,” which fans can stream today!

Stream the single: https://orcd.co/flamingroovies_pleasepleasemelive1978

As a special bonus, the CD version of “Rockin’ The Roundhouse” includes two Bonus Tracks, a hip new mix from internationally acclaimed Modern Retroists The Courettes as well as an alternate studio version of hugely popular “Slow Death!

Order the CD: https://cleorecs.com/store/shop/the-flamin-groovies-rockin-the-roundhouse-cd/

Pre-Order/Pre-Save the Digital version here: https://orcd.co/flamingroovies_rockintheroundhouse

Studio Tracks

  1. Shake Some Action (The Courettes Mix)
  2. Slow Death (Alternate Version)

Live At The Roundhouse (1978)

  1. Between The Lines
  2. Lady Friend
  3. Fall On You
  4. Baby Please Don’t Go
  5. Please Please Me
  6. All I Wanted
  7. From Me To You
  8. House Of Blue Lights
  9. Lover Not A Fighter
  10. Yeah My Baby
  11. Don’t Put Me On
  12. Shake Some Action
  13. Reminiscing
  14. Around & Around
  15. Let It Rock
  16. Move It

Live At Imperial College, London (1976)

  1. Shake Some Action
  2. I’ll Cry Alone
  3. Miss Amanda Jones
  4. Hey Hey Hey

Flamin’ Groovies |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *