[News] Sonic Desolution publish the music video for the title-track from the new album “Explorer”

Sonic Desolution is a new Swedish constellation inspired by Kaipa, Flower Kings and Genesis, and they plays thematic Melodic Prog Art Rock. Sonic Desolution proves that Sweden have a near incredible ability to create very good Prog bands.

Upcoming album “Explorer” is written by founder members Peter Lazar and Ken Sandin, with composer Daniel Gustafsson, and features solo artist Jan Johansen on vocals and superstar drummer Morgan Ågren, along with other renowned singers and players. The album is mixed and mastered by Andy LaRocque. Stream the music video for the title-track below:

With three different vocalists Sonic Desolution the band cover a wide range of dynamic to each song. Annica Svensson have a nice female vocal and this is balanced by the very god vocal from Jan Johansen, and Mads Carlson handle the more heavy and intense parts. The debut album is varied and in addition to classic prog there are elements og pop, pomp, symphonic etc. The lyric have eight chapter and deals the different phases and insight of life. Mostly the music is melodic and rather complex but available. There are some skilled guest musicians that add value to the music.


01. Explorer
02. The Waltz
03. Eye To Eye
04. Midlife Insight
05. Fair Warning
06. New Beginning
07. Tranquilandia
08. 21g


Jan Johansen / Vocals
Annica Svensson / Vocals
Mads Clausen (Biscaya, Timecode Alpha) / Vocals
Morgan Ågren (Devin Townsend, Dweezil Zappa, Kaipa) / Drums
Ken Sandin (Out Of This World, Kee Marcello, Uli Jon Roth, Vinnie Moore) / Bass
Magnus Berglund (Arctic Rain) / Guitars
Peter Lazar (Timecode Alpha) / Guitars

Sonic Desolution |Facebook Page|Instagram|Spotify|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *