[News] Swedish Heavy Psychedelic Rockers Moon Coven return with new album and reveal debut single

Malmö-based Heavy Psychedelic merchants Moon Coven return this August 25, 2023 with their fourth studio album “Sun King” on Ripple Music, and unveil a powerful live video for their new single “Wicked Words in Gold They Wrote.”

Two years after unleashing their juggernaut third record and Ripple Music debut “Slumber Wood” upon the world, Moon Coven are now ready to shift the Earth’s axis and mesmerize the masses once again with a fresh set of tunes in the sheerest tradition of modern heavy psychedelia: “Sun King.” Entirely recorded and produced by the band, their fourth studio album is a generous and compelling 9-track propelled by a renewed synergy: fueled up with Fuzz for days, the band keeps their myth-laden Doom ethos strong while enhancing their Garage-Psych facet for a spirited saga full of riffic plot twists.

Watch the official live video for “Wicked Words in Gold They Wrote” captured live at Studio Sickan through the YouTube player below:

About new album “Sun King,” the band comments: “In some ways, Sun King was a fresh start for us. After one member had to leave the band and after three stoner/doom albums, we wanted to try other styles as well. To keep producing interesting music, we had to expand our horizons a bit. In our opinion, Sun King is our most diverse album. It’s fun and playful sometimes and dark and powerful other times. The only aims we had was to keep the songwriting fun and creative while not feeling too limited. Also we recorded everything ourselves, which meant the recording process became more creative. We had unlimited time to explore without thinking about loss of money.

Sun King” was recorded and mixed by David Regn Leban, and mastered by Joona Hassinen. The artwork was created by David Regn Leban. It will be released on August 25, 2023 in various vinyl editions, as well as on CD and digital through Ripple Music.

Moon CovenSun King” out August 25, 2023 on Ripple Music
US Pre-Order // European Pre-Order // Bandcamp

Moon Coven is a Swedish Heavy Psychedelic Rock band whose deep understanding of the classics and their passion for Fuzz make for a distinct and potent sound. Their sound is a fusion of genre staples such as Black Sabbath and Acid King with the Progressive magic of Pink Floyd and the Psychedelic influences of The Black Angels. Having opened for bands like Uncle Acid & The Deadbeats, Monolord, Blues Pills and Jex Thoth, Moon Coven knows what it means to share the stage with the best of the best. It was this same attitude they brought on their three European tours as well as to festivals like Krokbacken, Children of the Sun or Red Smoke Festival in Poland.

After the release of their first two albums “Amanita Kingdom” (2014) and “Moon Coven” (2016), Moon Coven signed a worldwide deal with the revered Californian label Ripple Music in 2021. Born out of this collaboration, their third album “Slumber Wood” was described as “a spotless journey through the dark and foggy underworld of riffadelia” by More Fuzz and “a trace-like exploration of sonic heaviness and emotion-laden doom that won’t be soon forgotten” by Metal Injection. The forceful Swedish foursome is now ready to return with their fourth studio full-length “Sun King,” a mind-expanding and definitely boundary-pushing trip to be released in the summer 2023 on Ripple Music.

1. Wicked Words In Gold They Wrote
2. Seeing Stone
3. Sun King
4. Behold The Serpent
5. Below The Black Grow
6. The Yawning Wild
7. Death Shine Light On Life
8. The Lost Color
9. Guilded Apple

David Regn Leban
/ Guitar and Vocals
Axel Ganhammar / Guitar
Fredrik Dahlqvist / Drums
Pontus Ekberg / Bass

Moon Coven |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Ripple Music |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *