[News] Vancouver Orchestral Doom act Tribunal announces Doom Over Western Canada Summer Tour 2023

Vancouver-based Gothic/Orchestral Doom collective Tribunal announces a run of Summer tour dates in support of their acclaimed debut LP, “The Weight Of Remembrance,” released at the beginning of the year on 20 Buck Spin.

Doom Over Western Canada Summer 2023 begins on July 07, 2023 when Tribunal performs alongside Profanatica, Gevurah, The Ominous Circle, Egregore, and more at the two-day Covenant Festival in their hometown. From there, the band tours through Edmonton, Calgary, Saskatoon, Winnipeg, and Victoria into early August. The Calgary and Edmonton dates will see Tribunal co-headlining with Liminal Shroud. See the confirmed tour routing below and watch for further updates to post.

Tribunal Doom Over Western Canada Summer 2023:
7/07/2023 Covenant Festival @ Wise Hall – Vancouver, BC
7/13/2023 Starlite Temple – Edmonton, AB
7/14/2023 The Palomino – Calgary, AB
7/15/2023 Amigos Cantina – Saskatoon, SK
7/16/2023 Good Will Social Club – Winnipeg, MB
8/02/2023 Centennial Square – Victoria, BC

Featuring classically trained cellist/bassist/vocalist Soren Mourne and guitarist/vocalist Etienne FlinnTribunal’s brick-Heavy Classic Doom riffage borders on Death Metal heaviness, like My Dying Bride filtered through a colossal stained-glass edifice. The sound is instantly familiar with nods to the ‘80s and ‘90s but never sounds retro or like mere homage. Rather, “The Weight Of Remembrance” evokes the feeling of a painstakingly composed orchestral movement fit for a crumbling cathedral overgrown with moss. The duo frequently trades off vocals alternating between haunted wailing cleans, scathing Black Metal style shrieks and dread-filled death calls.

The Weight Of Remembrance” features additional contributions from several other talented musicians, including drums by Julia Geaman, additional drums on “Apathy’s Keep” by Magdalena Wienski, piano on “Remembrance” by Claine Lamb, and additional vocals by Rory Say. The album was recorded by Tribunal except for the primary drums which were recorded by Andrew Conroy at Fifth Chord Studios and Wienski’s drums which were recorded by Violetta Macri at CJSF, after which the songs were mixed and mastered by Markov Soroka. The beautifully painted cover artwork was created by Soren Mourne, with lettering and frame by Karmazid, photography by Liam Kanigan, and layout by Dan Fried completing the presentation. Steeped in the black velvet finery of Gothic Doom Metal, the band weaves dark tales of ultimate judgement, never-ending rain, and forsaken despair.

Find Tribunal’s “The Weight Of Remembrance” on LP, CD, CS, and digital platforms everywhere 20 Buck Spin titles are sold including the label webshop HERE and Bandcamp HERE, and watch the video for “Without Answer” HERE.


Soren Mourne / Bass, Cello and Vocals
Etienne Flinn / Guitar and Vocals

Live Band also Includes:

Julia Geaman / Drums
Jessica Yang / Guitar
Dallas / Keys

Additional Recording Musicians:

Julia Geaman / Drums
Magdalena Wienski / Additional drums on “Apathy’s Keep
Claine Lamb / Piano on “Remembrance
Rory Say / Additional Vocals

Tribunal |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Instagram|Spotify|

20 Buck Spin |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *