[Review] Meadows – Modern Emotions

Meadows is a band formed by Silhouette guitarist Daniël van der Weijde a.k.a. Daniël Meadows, together with bandmembers from Silhouette, Incidense and ex-Coppersky; Jurjen Bergsma, Peter Meijer, Rob van Nieuwenhuijzen & Jeffrey van Driest. After the first three years of writing and composing their debut album “Modern Emotions” is released on November 27, 2020 via Freya Records. Containing 8 medium length tracks, it is available on LP, CD and Digital, offering modern Prog sounds that mix influences from groups such as Dream Theater, Porcupine Tree and Haken above all. The band has made use of the collaboration of some guests on certain tracks, including Haken‘s Richard Henshall, who offers a guitar solo on “The Brave.” The opener “Dance With The Corpse Bride” it starts with an atmospheric background and then leaves room for a pleasant dreamy guitar arpeggio, on which the electric guitar and a soft rhythmic session are inserted. After the first half softer, with a sudden change the second part is at times heavier and more metallic. The melodic layers of piano and violin interact best with the rhythmic structure, a good start that immediately plunges us into the Prog atmospheres of the album. The title track “Modern Emotions” features heavy electric guitar riffs and a powerful and upbeat rhythm session, showing the band’s heavier streak. The tempo changes are well structured and the soft and harmonious vocal guides us pleasantly through the verses of the song and is best suited to the various passages. Ever-changing, a fine blend of power and symphony is overall a very inspired and profound track. “Nostalgia” is softer with an acoustic guitar arpeggio and a soft and sometimes choral vocal, with a light rhythmic session. A well-made Prog Rock track, with all the features that the listener expects, while the intensity increases with the passing of the minutes. In the finale, a guitar solo brings the sound to a high level, and then returns to the singing that closes with the last verse. An electric guitar and a more Rock rhythm session characterize the beginning of “Rebecca,” creating an atmosphere made of positive and involving melodies. The guitar is the protagonist with acoustic and electric that are stratified in the accompaniment, in the riffs and in the solo inserts that add a more technical touch to the song. A passage that will be interesting to listen to live, where it will surely give the musicians the opportunity to express themselves in a virtuous way, in the end it increases the intensity and then closes. “Powerture” returns to a heavier ground, where the atmospheres darken and the riffs become heavier and the rhythmic session becomes tighter. The tempo changes are precise and are an added value, while the guitar returns to the protagonist with sometimes intricate solo inserts, while the structure is always elaborate and well developed. “Good Times” is another softer passage, made up of arpeggiated layers of guitar and a soft and melodic vocal, always deep and expressive. Closer to the song, but with those elaborate cues that make it a soft but interesting track, while in the second part it becomes more elaborate and with a fine guitar solo. The calm returns and with the last vocal verse that brings the tones back to tranquility the track ends. “The Void” is a short passage of just over 1 minute, featuring an atmospheric guitar arpeggio. Closes the album “The Brave” which is also the longest track, which sees Richard Henshall from Haken as a guest in the guitar solo. After an intro of about a minute, a Prog theme develops with the pulled rhythm session and the leading guitar with virtuous inserts. Here too the tempo changes and the intense vocal are an added value, while a song is developed halfway between Prog Rock and Prog Metal, managing to mix the two genres with a personal touch. A good conclusion to a good album, which closes with power. A good debut album, which showcases a mature sound, clear ideas and very specific distinctive characters. All the ingredients for enjoyable listening are here, with quality ideas performed well with choral parts and solo parts that intertwine with the right timing. Overall, a recommended listening to all lovers of modern Progressive sounds, where the guitar is the main instrument, without however stealing the scene from the other instruments, but creating a quality ensemble.


1. Dance With The Corpse Bride (03:44)
2. Modern Emotions (06:48)
3. Nostalgia (04:12)
4. Rebecca (05:23)
5. Powerture (03:31)
6. Good Times (05:48)
7. The Void (01:18)
8. The Brave (07:15)


Daniel van der Weijde / Guitars, Synthsm Drum Programming, Mixing & Mastering
Jurjen Bergsma / Bass
Peter Meijer / Vocals & Lyrics

Erik Laan / Additional Piano on “Dance With The Corpse Bride” & “The Brave”
Sophie Zaaijer / Violin on “Dance With The Corpse Bride,” “Rebecca” & “The Brave”
Ruud Jolie / Guitar Solo on “Good Times”
Richard Henshall / Guitar solo on “The Brave”

Meadows |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

1 thought on “[Review] Meadows – Modern Emotions

Leave a Reply