[Review] Tercia – El Viaje

Tercia was a great Mexican Symphonic Progressive Rock band in the mid 70’s and early 80’s but unfortunately, they never released a record back then. It is until now that original keyboard player and composer Fernando Garrido has rescued the original pieces from obscurity by recording them for the first time. “El Viaje” it was released on June 06, 2022 and contains 7 tracks including 3 epic suites one of 13, one of 14 and one of 18 minutes in duration, where Fernando Garrido plays all the instruments. An album mainly focused on keyboard textures, an instrument in which the artist certainly expresses his technique to a greater extent. With a multitude of sounds that mix, recalling the great groups of the 70s, the period from which these compositions come precisely. Alternating more symphonic passages to more intricate ones with continuous tempo changes, a mostly instrumental album and only some cantatas. The compositions are of a high standard, resonated with a more modern sound, given by a different instrumentation from the traditional 70’s. The recording in my humble opinion is affected by the sounds of drumming, technically well played but in some passages a little confusing. The tracks are elaborate, with refined passages and in line with the music of the 70s, a shame for the quality of the recordings that do not allow the disc to sound at its best. This remains my opinion, but compositions of this level deserve a better sound performance, which could be improved with a different mixing and mastering. The 3 suites that occupy most of the disc’s playing time are very interesting compositions, with good vocal parts and long instrumental textures, which unfortunately suffer from the overall quality of the recordings, resulting less incisive than they really are. A band that failed to record during the 70s and that today thanks to Fernando Garrido alone, the music composed at the time can finally be heard today.

Welcome Home- Coheed and Cambria. S...


01. Destruccion (9:07)
02. Agonia (8:01)
03. El Tiempo Ensenara (8:47)
04. La Procesion (13:09)
05. Fuego Otra Vez (14:33)
06. El Viaje (18:17)
07. Yourself (5:09)


Fernando Garrido / Compositions, All Instruments

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply