[Review] That Joe Payne – By Name. By Nature

Northampton singer-songwriter That Joe Payne (ex-The Enid) will independently release his debut solo album “By Name. By Nature”on August 7, 2020. A mature album that combines the different stylistic influences of Joe Payne, mixing Rock, Classic, Prog and Pop with a unique and personal style. 10 are the songs that make up this album, for a total of 52:45 minutes of pregevpole workmanship, openings of classical music that blend with more modern rhythmic sessions halfway between Rock and Pop. The melodies alternate more symphonic moments with other more electronic ones, but the great protagonist of the album is the vocal, which adapts perfectly and is modeled on the various situations of the album. Like music also the vocal layers alternate clean voices with other effects, the atmospheres that are created in this album are the mixture of various styles, united by the great voice of Joe. Both in the softer and more powerful parts there is a complexity and elaboration in the composition that makes the tracks original and never banal. Overall, the Pop component prevails, with important orchestral inserts and rhythmic sessions ranging from acoustic to electronic making this work very projected into the future. A listening recommended not only to lovers of the aforementioned genres, but which will surely be appreciated by a much wider audience given the amount of different ideas present within it. A sliding and elaborate disc at the same time, where you feel that all aspects are treated in detail, a good solo debut for an artist we already know but as the voice of other projects. Concluding an album that will surprise you for the winning mix between different sounds, which after more careful listening will reveal all its beauty.

Pre-order “By Name. By Nature” here.


  1. The Thing About Me Is
  2. By Name. By Nature.
  3. Nice Boy
  4. In My Head
  5. What is the World Coming To
  6. Love (Not the Same) [feat. Ms Amy Birks]
  7. I Need a Change
  8. End of the Tunnel
    Bonus Tracks (CD only):
  9. Music for a While
  10. Moonlit Love


That Joe Payne – lead vocals, choir, piano, strings and other programming.
Max Read – bass (track 1), sampled vocals, choir and programming.
Duncan McLaughlan – guitar (tracks 2, 3, 5, 6 & 7), bass (track 6).
Nicholas Willes – drums and bass (tracks 5 & 7).
Lisa Martin – drums (tracks 1, 2 & 7).
Nikitas Kissonas – guitar (track 1).
Ms Amy Birks – vocals (track 7).
Additional thanks to the live musicians who bring these songs to life on stage:
Oliver Day, Moray Macdonald, Nicholas Willes, and Josh Green.

That Joe Payne |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Soundcloud|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

1 thought on “[Review] That Joe Payne – By Name. By Nature

Leave a Reply