[News] Black Spell to reissue their first two albums and “Walpurgis Night” EP

Italian Doom/Psych Rock trio Black Spell will reissue their first two albums (“Black Spell” and “The Purple Skull“) and “Walpurgis Night” EP on July 28, 2023 via Helter Skelter Productions/Regain Records.

Says the band: “We are proud to present here the official repress/reissue. Thanks to Regain Records/Helter Skelter Productions our self-titled first album and the second album The Purple Skull are now available again from Europe!

Repressed in different vinyl colors and with some updated artworks and layouts. »Black Spell« has been remastered and the digital version is available only on Regain Records’ Bandcamp.

Walpurgis Night EP has been expanded with two unreleased tracks recorded during the sessions for The Purple Skull: At Hell’s Gates/Infernal Powers and Satan’s Claws. It also contains the only cover we ever recorded, Doom Mantia by Electric Wizard.”

Helter Skelter Productions (distributed & marketed by Regain Records) is proud to present re-release of Italy’s Black Spell, self-titled 2020 debut album, on 12″ vinyl & CD format.

Pre-Order the self-titled album on bandcamp: https://regainrecords.bandcamp.com/album/black-spell


01. Primum Maleficium 01:42
02. Visions from the Dark Side 04:48
03. The Queen Witch 04:34
04. Ancient Herbs 03:42
05. Winter Demon 03:26
06. Occult Forces 04:06
07. Horned God of the Forest 03:36
08. Psychic Funeral 03:16
09. Mefistofele 03:17
10. Black Sun 03:54
11. Dance of the Damned 03:23
12. Black Magick Spell 03:20
13. Crimson Skies 03:42

Pre-Order “The Purple Skull” on Bandcamp: https://regainrecords.bandcamp.com/album/the-purple-skull


01. Rebirth 01:03
02. Dark Priest of Hell 04:05
03. Walpurgis Night 03:23
04. Ethereal Shadow 03:54
05. Feast of the Grand Whore 03:49
06. Blood Communion 06:14
07. Holy Incense 03:53
08. The Purple Skull 07:04
09. Black Alchemist 03:53
10. Il Teschio Viola Vive 02:48

Pre-Order “Walpurgis Night” EP on Bandcamp: https://regainrecords.bandcamp.com/album/walpurgis-night


01. Walpurgis Night 03:22
02. Doomantia 05:56
03. At Hell’s Gates / Infernal Powers 04:02
04. Satan’s Claws 05:37

Of that saga, the aforementioned EP – “Walpurgis Night,” originally just two tracks released digitally but now buffeted to four on 12” vinyl – is the swiftest statement of Black Spell’s bewitching powers. That they reverentially cover Electric Wizard’s paradigmatic “Doom Mantia” seems merely like a stepping board: across the other three tracks on “Walpurgis Night,” Black Spell seek dustier and more arid realms rather than strictly dark, primordial muck. Granted, the aura of the occult will always coat everything they do, but a devilish sense of fun or at least celebration seems to guide these sonic warlocks. How can life be Hell when you’ve got these dope jams as your soundtrack?!

To make the release of “Walpurgis Night” even grander, Helter Skelter will be jointly reissuing Black Spell’s first two albums, the self-titled debut and follow-up “The Purple Skull,” on CD and vinyl formats with new layouts, and updated covers. »”Walpurgis Night” will be added as bonus tracks to the CD version of “The Purple Skull.” Gaze into their deep purple post-haste!

Available on vinyl and CD: regainrecords.bandcamp.com or shadowrecords.se


Alastair Skull / Guitars, Organ, Vocals
Pierre Skull / Bass Guitar
Johan Skull / Drums, Synthesizer

Black Spell |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Helter Skelter Productions |Facebook Page|Instagram|

Regain Records |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *