[News] Let the new CNJR single “Burning” spark your curiosity! New album announced

Let the new CNJR single “Burning” spark your curiosity!

New album “I Can See The Church Burning Through The Binoculars” announced.

Experimental music producer CNJR returns with a new full-length release. I Can See The Church Burning Through The Binoculars sees CNJR depart from a deeper synth-driven electronic feel to embrace an indie aesthetic throughout the album. A stronger presence of guitars, acoustic drums, and vocals can be heard interwoven with retro synthesizers and electronic elements recognized from prior releases. A starkly dark album, I Can See The Church Burning Through The Binoculars explores themes of repression, emotional turmoil, and identity.

Today we have the pleasure to premiere the first single “Burning” at Everything Is Noise: https://everythingisnoise.net/premieres/let-cnjrs-new-single-burning-spark-your-curiosity/

Burning” is a departure from the sound of CNJR’s prior album, it is an indie-driven song focused around a psychedelic keyboard line, acoustic drums, and haunting vocals. Hinting at a new sound coming on the full release,Burning” offers a glimpse of the melancholic and dark aesthetic typical to CNJR, yet through a different lens, focused on a more traditional song structure and vocal-driven sound.

Everything Is Noise notes “Burning is based on a simple descending synth motif which shifts in and out of focus, like a thought that’s constantly on your mind, sometimes all-consuming, sometimes only as a vague concept. In its three brief minutes, the texture of this synth permutates, from grainy verging on harsh at the start, through subaqueous and vacant, to shimmering brightness. CNJR plays with subtle layer additions, accentuating the natural ebb and flow of “Burning”, and it begins to feel meditative and hypnotic, like focussing on the rise and fall of one’s own breath.

Listen here:

CNJR comments: “Burning is the last song written and recorded for the upcoming album. It was almost accidental. I was trying to finish another song for the record and it just wasn’t coming together, so I just started recording whatever came out as a way to clear my head. What happened was a complete song poured out, written and recorded entirely over 48 hours. It’s oddly become my favorite song on the release. Simple, moody, and to the point.

I Can See The Church Burning Through The Binoculars” will be out in October on Future Archive Recordings, an artist-run label founded by CNJRSun GlittersArms and Sleepers, and Little People.

1. The Destroyers
2. Burning
3. Putrid Things
4. Paint My Face With Ashes
5. Drunk On The Venom
6. MSS (Dust Edit)
7. Tunnels
8. Drones

CNJR |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply