[Review] La Reine Seule – Visages (We Stood Like Kings)

La Reine Seule is the solo piano project of Belgian Post/Prog Rock band We Stood Like Kings‘ pianist Judith Hoorens. Her first album “Visages” was released on June 24, 2022 via Kapitän Platte. “Visages” contains eight tracks based on an identical musical cell of three notes. In each track this small cell takes on different forms, moods, rhythms, from minor to major, from melody to harmony, from one voice to another. An album of Neo-Classical music, which enhances the compositional and executive technique of the artist, showing a different facet than the band he belongs to. Elaborate plots and very intense passages, for a pleasant listening from start to finish and full of quality ideas. It requires several plays to be able to capture all the nuances contained within the compositions, which touch various aspects of classical music in a modern and personal key. An album recommended for lovers of piano sounds and Classical music, compositions and high-level performances. The artist enhances a more technical aspect of the piano sound, hoping it will be the debut of a series of subsequent releases. It will be interesting to be able to listen to these compositions live, they would certainly enhance their interpretation and intensity. Suitable for those who want a listening different from Prog and Rock in general, but very engaging and full of pathos, for a good journey through refined and refined sounds.


01. Un
02. Deux
03. Trois
04. Quatre
05. Cinq
06. Six
07. Sept
08. Huit


Judith Hoorens / Piano, Compositions

Kapitän Platte |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

1 thought on “[Review] La Reine Seule – Visages (We Stood Like Kings)

Leave a Reply